Pea Soup – A Success Story

It has taken me almost a month to get over the disastrous affair that was my first attempt to make pea soup like my Oom FC.

Follow this link if you missed that part of the story:  https://mossieunplugged.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/lessons-ive-learned-about-pea-soup/

The idea of not having to clean up if the peas decide to spew again, and not having to wash the dishes afterward gave me a much-needed boost to just get on with it already!

Oh – I probably need to explain.  I had a run-in with my big bread-knife.  I was so hungry that I’d started to ‘bewe’.  (Jarret says there is no English word for the shake in your hands when you’re THAT hungry.)  When I finally had the uncut bread in my ‘bewerige’ hands, my eyes started to water too.  This is a deadly combination when you have a sharp knife in your hands.  I was lucky to walk away with half a finger.

And that’s how my husband ended up on dishes duty and I finally got round to making this soup.

Did it live up to my romanticized childhood memories?  YES.  Even my husband says he now understands why I’ve been so obsessed with making this soup.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.  Thank you to Oom FC in McDougall’s Bay for sending me his recipe.  He says the secret to constantly taste it and add a bit of this and that until it’s perfect.

You know you’ve tasted it enough when you’re not hungry anymore!

INGREDIENTS:

± 1kg Mutton/Lamb Stewing meat (a couple of shanks in there don’t hurt)

1 x Packet of Split Peas (500g)

1 x Large Onion – grated

1 x Large Carrot – grated

1 x Large Potato – grated

3 – 4tspn Sugar

Crushed garlic

Lots of Salt & Pepper

METHOD:

1. Cook mutton (without spices) in pressure cooker until almost soft.

2. Add salt, pepper, onion, garlic and the split peas.  Fill the pressure cooker about halfway with water, and pressure cook it for about 15 minutes.  The peas stick to the bottom of the pot easily, so pressure cook it on a lower heat, and stir it at least twice so that it doesn’t burn.

3. When the peas are soft and mushy, add the carrot, potato and sugar.  Also  taste it and add more salt & pepper as needed.

4. Turn down the heat and simmer the soup for about 45 minutes.  Keep tasting adding salt & pepper as you like.  You can even add another teaspoon of sugar.  If the soup becomes too thick or sticks to easily, just add another cup of water.

One thought on “Pea Soup – A Success Story

  1. I don’t have a pressure cooker, so it takes FOREVER, but the tips are awesome. Personally I had game stewing meat, which I cooked with onion, a bit of curry powder (just a pinch) and a bit of vinegar, while my peas cooked in a separate pot,before combining all the ingredients, adding in snippered bacon also. Yum!!!

Leave a Reply

