Chilli Bean Soup

As winter becomes colder, my craving for soup grows.  As I’ve blogged before, I’ve never been exceptionally good at making soup – until now!

At long last I’ve decided to conquer this challenge, this Achilles heel of mine, and make soup until I get it right!  The grand finale will hopefully be me pulling off a traditional Afrikaans pea soup with  game shanks!

In the meantime, I’ve made a few different soups that were really good!  And they were easy and quick to cook, too!

Here is a Chilli Bean Soup.  You can decide how hot or not you want it, and it contains mince – so the meat-eaters will enjoy it just as much!  I found the original recipe on Taste.com.au

REMEMBER:  As with all other recipes, I would like to encourage you to experiment with the ingredients!


Ingredients:

1 tbs oil (olive or veg)

1 onion, chopped

300g beef mince (I used 500g game mince)

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander (I replaced this with a pinch of allspice)

1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper

1 tsp paprika

1 chilli, finely chopped

Mixed herbs

Small can of tomato cocktail

400g can chopped tomatoes (I used 2 fresh tomatoes)

400g can red kidney beans (I used a can of four-bean mix. You can also use Pinto beans, but they are quite expensive)

OTHER:  I also added a couple of chopped up mushrooms.

  1. Heat the oil in a pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until soft.
  2. Add the mince and spices and cook for 5-6 minutes, breaking up the mince with a spoon, until the mince browns.
  3. Add the chilli, herbs, tomato cocktail, tomatoes, 2-3 cups hot water, season with salt and black pepper. Bring to the boil, stirring, then simmer, covered, over medium-low heat for 20 minutes.
  4. Add the beans and simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. For a thicker soup, mash a few of the beans and stir through, or add a little bit of Maizena (remember to mix it with cold water first before adding!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

