My First Date With Hot Chocolate On a Stick

What it was supposed to look like. Image from whipperdish.com

I was stumbling around on the internet last week when I found a recipe that made me blush with excitement:  “Hot Chocolate on a Stick”.  It sounds right in each and every way!

So I bought the ingredients, struggling to contain my excitement in the shop.  I paid the cashier with trembling hands, hoping that the money isn’t damp from my sweaty palms.  It was like going on your first date!

Unfortunately, as with many first dates, things didn’t turn out the way I expected.  Three days and three nights later, he still had not called.  The mixture just wouldn’t set, no matter what I did.  I had it in the fridge, in the freezer, outside the freezer, covered and uncovered.  But alas, nothing worked.  It just stayed gooey.

As with many failed first dates, I don’t really know what went wrong.  I suspect that it needed a bit more chocolate, or that it’s the condensed milk that keeps it soft.  Either way, this first date just wasn’t meant to evolve into a romance.

But we can still be friends!  The gooey goodness it turned into is a decadent Bar One-like sauce that is great on ice-cream, pudding or in a cup of hot milk.

Here is the recipe for Hot Chocolate NOT On A Stick.  Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Cream
1 can Condensed Milk
3 cups semisweet chocolate (or choc chips)
1 tsp Vanilla essence

1. In a double boiler, heat the cream and condensed milk.

2.  Once it’s warm, add the chocolate and gently melt.  Stir it often so that the chocolate doesn’t stick to the bottom of the bowl.

3.  After about 10 minutes, whisk the mixture until it is thick and smooth.  Add vanilla essence, and mix well.

4.  Instead of pouring it into a dish to set, pour the sauce into a container for storage.  Keep the container open and standing outside the fridge until the sauce has cooled down.  Store in the fridge for up to two weeks.

Find the original recipe for Hot Chocolate on a Stick on Whipperdish.

Leave a Reply

